Training for the San Francisco Marathon: First hill workout

This morning I faced a beast most foul:

Wow, my cell phone camera sucks.

Indoor cardio machines make me want to gauge my eyes out. When I was healing from surgery and had to rely on the stationary bike and elliptical machine I thought I would go insane. Turns out I was being melodramatic (me?) and I didn’t actually go insane, but I was pretty bored.

So why did I choose to hop on the dreadmill of my own volition this morning? San Francisco Marathon training, of course! My training plan *officially* begins today. Since I live in a pancake-flat area, hill training is going to take some creativity. Here’s the workout I did today, which is based off of one I found on Running Times.

5 min. warm-up (I worked my way up to a 6.0 mph pace)
1 min. each @ 4, 5, and 6 incline
3 min. flat
1 min. each @ 5, 6, and 7 incline
3 min. flat
1 min. each @ 6, 7, and 8 incline
3 min. flat
1 min. each @ 7, 6, and 5 incline
3 min. flat
1 min. each @ 6, 5, and 4 incline
3 min. flat

The whole thing took me 35 minutes and I held the 6.0 mph pace throughout. By the end I had ran 3.414 miles. And boy was I drenched. This was my first hill workout in a looooong time, and it showed.

Other tricks up my sleeve to prepare myself for hills is to include stair running, as well as more hill intervals on the treadmill. If you have any ideas please leave a comment, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

