Recipe: Carrot Fries

I recently bought a HUGE bag of carrots for $3. It seemed like a good idea at the time. But after this sack of carrots had been sitting in my fridge for what seemed like forever, I knew I needed to think of ways to use them up. I like eating carrot sticks as much as the next person, but unless I turned into a rabbit that wasn’t going to use up all of these carrots.

Carrot cake? Nah, I don’t really need to be scarfing down cake. Carrot muffins? Meh. Then one day my friend was telling me that she had made parsnip fries. If you could make fries out of parsnip, then why not carrot? I decided to give it a whirl.

Afterward, I realized I wasn’t the first person to come up with this ingenious idea…a quick Google turns up quite a few other recipes. Oh well, here’s my version. Super easy to throw together.

Carrot Fries

  • 4 large-ish carrots, washed and peeled and cut into match sticks
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • seasonings (I used salt, pepper, and thyme)

1. Preheat oven to 400F. Prepare you carrots by slicing them into match sticks.

2. Place carrot fries on a cookie sheet. Toss with olive oil and seasonings.

3. Bake for 20 minutes. Flip with a spatula, then return to the oven for another 20 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Carrot Fries

Leave a Reply

