No Weigh In Challenge

Like most women (and men, probably), I’m not always 100% happy with my body. Scratch that. I don’t think I’ve ever been 100% happy with my body.

Although I have been making an effort to focus on fitness goals (e.g., run a marathon) rather than aesthetic ones (e.g., weigh X pounds), of course I still look in the mirror and criticize what I see. Of course I’d like to lose a dress size or two. I know I’m not alone in this.

I fluctuate on whether I weigh myself or not. Sometimes I go through phases where I obsessively weigh myself several times a day. I’m in one of those places right now. I know it’s not rational behavior and I’d like it to stop.

What a perfect time for Angie Gooding to start a No Weigh In Challenge for the month of April. The idea of not weighing myself for an entire month makes me a bit uneasy, which just reinforces the notion that this is something I should do.

Of course I’m still going to be focusing on eating healthy food and exercising…the only behavior I am aiming to change is stepping on the scale. At the end of April I’ll write about my experiences.

What about you? Do you weigh yourself consistently? Do you find it helpful or harmful?

2 thoughts on “No Weigh In Challenge

  1. That’s a great idea! We can be such a slave to the scale, and give it way too much power to sway our mood. I weigh myself at least weekly, sometimes more, which helps me judge when I need to cut back on the endless snacking… 🙂

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog and wishing me well this weekend!

    I am guilty of being a slave to the scale. My outlook on the number is what has changed though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

