Adventurous April Challenge

Janetha over at Meals & Moves is hosting an ‘Adventurous April’ challenge:
The goal is to do something you normally wouldn’t do.

Ever since I started exercising in 2005, I’ve almost always worked out alone. It’s just how I roll. I like to set my own training schedule and do what I want to do when I want to do it. Gee, can you tell I’m an only child?

I haven’t met that many folks since moving to the Bay Area. It doesn’t help that right now I am working from home and I have very little human contact. The thing is, I’m quite introverted, and unless pushed to do so, I find it difficult to go out into the world and meet new people.

I was entertaining the idea of joining a run club, in an attempt to meet fellow runners, when I happened upon the Bay Area Runners group. They have different runs around the South Bay. I saw an upcoming run wasn’t that far from my house, so I took the plunge and signed up.

I’m not sure why I was so treipdatious. Only one other runner showed up, but it was nice running and chatting and getting to meet somebody new. We ran 3.26 miles along this beautiful trail:

After our run was over, I ran the 3 miles home by myself, making it an even 6.2/10K. Once you get closer to downtown San Jose the trail isn’t quite so scenic:

So there you have it. I pushed myself out of my comfort zone and I’m glad I did! I think I’m going to try and make one run a week a run club run.

Are you a member of a run club or running group? Do you prefer running with others or by yourself?

One thought on “Adventurous April Challenge

  1. I’m an introvert too so I can relate.. And I usually run with my puppy.. I have this huge fear that I am going to hold everybody back running in a group…
    I am going to post this April challenge to Such a great idea

Leave a Reply

