Vega Sport Review – Part 1

Awhile ago I was sent quite a few samples of the new Vega line – Vega Sport. Vega is a line of different nutritional supplements created by former professional Ironman, Brendan Brazier. The products are all plant-based and the focus is on natural ingredients.

Previously I had tried Vega Whole Foods Optimizer…and I was NOT a fan. But since I had a pile of Vega Sport products to use up I figured why not.

Vega Sport is meant for endurance athletes and is set up as a three stage system. There are products that you take pre-workout (the “prepare” products”), during your working (the “sustain” workouts), and post-workout (the “recover” products).

Prepare: Pre-Workout Energizer

So far there is one product in the ‘prepare’ category: The pre-workout energizer. It comes in lemon-lime and acai berry. The acai berry was pretty good, but I thought the lemon-lime was gross, to be perfectly honest.

The pre-workout energizer contains things like green tea, yerba mate, coconut oil, and rhodiola, in order to pep you up before your workout. However there are only 16g of carbohydrates per serving, so depending on the workout you have coming up this may not be enough of a pre-workout intake. I tried some before a 6 mile run and I definitely felt some zip in my step. However, if I was going for anything longer than 6 miles and I would need to eat some food as well.

Sustain: Electrolyte Hydrator

These are little packets you are meant to dissolve into water. A thing to note here is that they have NO carbs (or calories for that matter) – they are JUST electrolytes. These were alright (but once again, I did not care for the lemon lime flavor, the pom-berry was good though). Honestly though I would rather have a drink with some calories/carbohydrates in it. Perhaps on a short/medium run this would be alright, but it’s not something I would see myself buying.

Sustain: Endurance Bar

This comes in two flavors: mocha and acai berry. I was only able to try the mocha and let me tell you: it was DELICIOUS! I didn’t eat it while running though. I’m not very good at chewing bars while running. I think this would be great if you were cycling or hiking or something like that. Even though I thought was yummy, it’s not something I personally would buy for running.

One bar has 190 calories and 28g of carbohydrates as well as 8g of protein.

I still have four more products to review (it’s a BIG line!) so look for Part 2 to come soon!

Leave a Reply

