Weekly Wrap-up

I had a great running week!Things started out a bit shaky on Monday, but that seems to have been a temporary blip.

Monday:
Took my spiffy new shoes to the gym for a treadmill hill workout. Ended up feeling quite queasy and had to end the workout a bit early. Boo. Ended up running 2.84 miles in 28:36.

Tuesday:
I was brave and went for my first run with a running group! I ran 3.26 with the group (well, the group was actually just two of us…) and then ran home by myself, for a total of 6.2 miles in 1:03:19.

Wednesday:
Did an unscheduled 5K. My husband was working from home and felt like going for a quick run so I went with him. The pace was pretty easy (for me) – 3.1 miles in 33:15.

After the run, I went to the gym and did the “dumbbell hell” workout from this page:

5 DB deadlifts
5 DB hang cleans
5 DB push press
5 DB squats

I did 10 rounds with 20# DBs. After every two rounds I had a little breather. This was TOUGH!

Thursday:
Long run: 11 miles in 1:47:13.

Friday:
Did two ZWOW workouts back to back: ZWOW #11 (score: 4.2) and ZWOW #10 (score 2.1…which is down from my previous score of 2.5, ugh). I still had some DOMS in my quads from Wednesday’s strength workout, so I did 15 very easy minutes on the elliptical and then made sure to stretch out a ton.

Saturday:
7.6 mile run…was only supposed to go 6.2 but got carried away. Ended up hitting the wall at mile 6. It was my first time running in the heat in a looooong time.

Sunday:
Rest day! My legs are definitely feeling like they need it.

Total Miles Ran This Week:
30.74…which is too many. It’s up 25% from last week! I try to only increase my mileage by a max of 10% from week to week. This is mostly due to poor decision making on my part.


3 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-up

  1. Oh, you have made me feel very lazy. That is a lot of running. I used to do long distance running (in my teenage years) but for some reason, I just don’t seem to be able to run any more. I switched to swimming and I’m loving it. Certainly not covering distances like you are though!

  2. You had a great week! It sounds like a great mix of solo and group runs, too. I almost always run alone, but it’s nice to have company. Enjoy your rest day!

Leave a Reply

