Recipe: Curried Mung Bean Soup

I’m a bit of a pantry hoarder. I try not to be, I really do, but then I see some bean or spice that I don’t already have and I’ll think about all of the things I could do with it.

Somehow a big jar of mung beans ended up in my pantry. I’m not sure why I picked these up. The only thing I knew to do with mung beans is to sprout them, and I’m actually not a fan of sprouted mung beans (I much prefer lentil or chickpea sprouts).

And so my jar of mung beans sat in the pantry for well over a year. Finally, I decided that they were taking up precious pantry real estate and that they would be turned into soup. This is how I typically make curried lentil soup, but the mung beans worked well. Feel free to use either.

Curried Mung Bean Soup

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 large carrot, chopped
  • 1 rib of celery, chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 serrano, minced
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp. coriander
  • 2 tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1 cup dried mung beans
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • salt to taste
  • 1/4 tsp. garam masala
  • 1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice

1. In a thin laryer of water, saute the onion, celery, and carrot until they are just starting to get soft. Add in the garlic and serrano. If mixture starts to stick, add some more water.

2. Add in spices and the tomato paste. Stir constantly and let the spices cook for a few minutes. The vegetables in step #1 should be coated with the spice/tomato paste mixture.

3. Add in mung beans and vegetable broth. Bring to a boil, cover, and lower to a simmer. Let cook for 45 min., or until mung beans are cooked.

4. I like my soups to be thick and blended, so I used an immersion blender to blend approximately half of the soup. If you don’t have an immersion blender, just add half of the soup to a regular blender, blend, and then add it  back to the pot. Feel free to skip this step, it’s a texture-preference.

5. Taste the soup and add salt to taste. Add in lemon juice and garam masala.

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Curried Mung Bean Soup

  1. This looks lovely. Growing up, I was never a fan of mung beans, but having relocated to the Philippines, they’re so cheap and easier to find than lentils. I’ll give this a try tomorrow. Thanks!

  2. Thanks for sharing. I too had a container of mung beans and this inspired me to try your soup. I used chicken stock and also threw in some parsley and shallots. Very tasty and the serranos added some nice heat. Was thinking that a dollop of creme fraiche would be a nice way to balance the heat.

  3. This recipe is simmering in the pot. It smells amazing. I really like curry and curry lentil soup, I am looking forward to trying mung beans for the first time.

Leave a Reply

