Three Things Thursday

1. Yesterday I finally went for my first run in 3 days. It was overcast and windy, but the rain stayed away. I ran the first 5K with my husband at a slower pace (34:XX) and then another 2 miles by myself for 5 miles total (in 53:XX).

Guadalupe River

2. My long run this week isn’t going to happen. So I think I’m going to try and split the distance over several days and just have a week of “medium” runs. I’ll keep the pace easy. Back on schedule next week. Does this sound like a horrible idea? My long run this week was supposed to be 12 miles. Last week it was 11, next week 13. I think I’ll be okay. But I’d love to hear other people weigh in on this.

3. WHEN WILL THE RAIN END? Okay, I feel bad complaining about this. At the end of the day, the weather here is pretty sweet. But since I live in a place that gets 300 days of sunshine a year (please don’t kick me) a few weeks of rain feel like TORTURE. Any tips for running in the rain? I wear a hat to keep the rain out of my face, but any others? Do you wear your Garmin in the rain? Sometimes if it’s raining hard I’ll start the Garmin and then keep it in my pocket.

Painting by Childe Hassam

4 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday

  1. I live in SoCal (Riverside) and if it rains for more than a few hours I’m freaking out. Okay, that may be an exaggeration… or maybe not…

    Long run… sucks you can’t get to it but at least you are already planning on getting your next one in after that and not letting one missed run completely derail you. I would say that your plan is solid. If it were me I’d try to do at least one run at half the distance, so try to get in at least one 6-7 miler, maybe run like 5, 7, 5 or 6, 6, 6… oh wait, bad sign… um… yeah do like 5, 7, 5 or if you are up to it and have the time 6, 8, 4-5… Either way I’d keep the pace for the longer run of the medium runs at your long run pace.

    Rain… sigh. Definitely a jacket helps. It might slow you down or might feel like it’s dragging you down but it makes such a huge difference. Obviously you don’t want something that will absorb water. I have a nylon jacket, an adidas one I think meant for weather, but yeah I run in that when it rains and it really does help. I’ve also put my Garmin in my pocket too during rainy runs. Horror story: my iPod gave out on me during my 1st 18-miler, which was all in the rain. I blamed the rain. It died not even at the halfway mark. As if running in the rain wasn’t bad enough…

  2. I come from a city where it normally doesn’t rain (except for the past 12 months) and so we’re not used to doing anything in the rain. We don’t own gumboots or raincoats or umbrellas, so we certainly don’t go jogging – what would we wear? So I can definitely understand and sympathise with your dilemma – I hope the rain stops soon! xx

Leave a Reply

