My First Recovery Run

After my 12 miles on Thursday, I woke up really stiff and sore on Friday. Typically I take a rest day immediately following a long run. However, lately I’ve been reading about everyone going on ‘recovery runs’ and I was curious.

A recovery run is done the day after a hard workout and should be an easy run at a slow pace. Laura over at Mommy Run Fast wrote a blog post all about recovery runs just as I was getting ready to head out for my recovery run – awesome timing! She goes through some of the different rationales regarding how and why recovery runs work, which was really interesting.

The first mile was horrible. I could barely move my legs and I was so slow. Mile 2 was a little better, but still not great. However, something magical happened and by mile 3  my legs had loosened up and I was actually feeling…good.

For the rest of the day I was hardly stiff and sore at all. Certainly nothing compared to the stiffness/soreness I had pre-run. I’m sold…I’m definitely including more recovery runs from here on out.

Some folks say that recovery runs that are done the day after a hard work out don’t actually work and are a myth. I’m not an exercise scientist nor a kinesiologist. All I have to go by is my N=1. For me, and for a lot of other folks out there on the internet, they seem to work.

Do you incorporate recovery runs? Do they work for you?

 

2 thoughts on “My First Recovery Run

  1. I’m not a runner but I’ve heard you must do a recovery run after a long run and that to do really lengthy runs day after day can be quite damaging (that info is from my friend who trains for marathons!) xx

  2. I love recovery runs. Love them. I used to not believe in them but I’ve found that it’s a great way to help me get right back into the swing of things after a long run. It really helps me loosen up my muscles and makes it smoother for the next run. I’ve always run long on Sundays, so I used to take Mondays off but Tuesday runs were always a struggle. Now, I’ll throw in a 3- to 4-mile recovery run on Mondays and on Tuesday I don’t usually feel any remnants of Sunday’s long run. Glad you’ve found them to be useful as well.

Leave a Reply

