Capitola Half Marathon Here I Come!

I wasn’t planning on racing much this year, save for my very first full marathon, the San Francisco Marathon, in July. Imagine my surprise when I woke up this morning to find out I had won an entry into the Capitola Half Marathon in May, courtesy of PhD Strides!

Santa Cruz is such a beautiful place. Even though I live 40 minutes away, I rarely find myself traveling there. I’m definitely glad to have this reason to head down. I think the husband and I are going to snag a hotel room and make a weekend out of it.

Source

This half fits nicely into my marathon training schedule and I’m eager to see what my time will be. The last half I ran was in 2010, where I ran a 2:12:XX. I’m going into this race without a set time goal in mind…instead I’m focusing on racing for the first time in almost two years and seeing how I perform so I can more accurately project a pace for my full in July.

Thanks again, Elise!

4 thoughts on “Capitola Half Marathon Here I Come!

  1. That’s awesome, congrats!! It’s the perfect timing to test your fitness and help you pace yourself well for the full. I love free race entries!

  2. That’s awesome! I have never won a free race entry! That is going to be a great run. I was just down there yesterday and the weather was perfect, the sun was shining but there was a really nice breeze and of course the views are amazing. And it’s flat! This should be a great one for you for your first half after a while!

Leave a Reply

