Recipe: Sweet Potato Chickpea Stew

I love butternut squash. It’s my second most-favorite squash, right after kabocha (and yes, I have a rank-ordered my squash preference). When I saw a recipe for butternut squash and chickpea stew floating around Pinterest, I was intrigued.

There was just one hitch. It’s April. Sure, you can find a few winter squash here and there in the stores, but for the most part they are of poor quality and outrageously expensive. Then one day I had some cooked chickpeas I needed to use up and I remembered this recipe. I thought of the perfect butternut stand-in: sweet potatoes! While butternut squash might not be readily available this time of year, I can easily get sweet potatoes all year round.

This recipe is simple and quick to come together. Essentially I turned this:

Into this:

I served this on a bed of rice, but I can see it going really well with quinoa as well.

Sweet Potato Chickpea Stew
(adapted from The Perfect Pantry)

  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 2 tsp. paprika
  • 1 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, diced
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 15oz. can of chickpeas, or 2 c. cooked
  • chopped parsley, for garnish

1. In a pot, saute the onion until soft (about 5 minutes or so) in either water or broth. Add in garlic and continue to cook for 2 minutes. Add in spices. Stir well and cook for 1 minute. If things start to stick add in a splash of water or broth.

2. Add in sweet potatoes, diced tomatoes, vegetable broth, and chickpeas. Cover the pot, bring to a boil, and simmer for 30 minutes or so, until sweet potatoes are tender. Taste and add salt if desired.

3. I served this over rice, but any grain will do. Garnish with fresh parsley.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Sweet Potato Chickpea Stew

  1. YUM!! We make a very similar one, usually with butternut squash. That reminds me that I haven’t made it in awhile, and have a squash on hand… might be making it tomorrow. Your pictures are gorgeous… can you come be my photographer?!

Leave a Reply

