May Goals

1.Run the Capitola Half Marathon (my first race since 2010!)
I was lucky enough to win an entry into the Capitola Half Marathon from Elise at PhD Strides! I don’t have a concrete goal for this race…my intention is to use it as a gauge for pacing for the San Francisco Marathon in July. My old half marathon time from 2010 is 2:12…I’m not going to lie, I’d definitely like to do better. But I’m not going to get too upset if it doesn’t happen.

2. Stretch EVERY DAY
As I’ve mentioned before, I have really, really tight hamstrings. Throughout April, I really made a conscious effort to try and stretch them out every day. Some days I would only stretch for 30 seconds or so, other days it was 10 to 15 minutes. I missed a few days here and there, but overall I was pretty consistent. Progress has been slow, but I definitely notice a difference. My goal is to be able to do a full forward bend by the end of 2012.

3. Bump up foam rolling frequency to at least 5x/week
My goal for April was to roll a minimum for 3x/week. I’d like to bump this up to 5. When I go too long without rolling my IT band I start to feel a bit tender in my left knee. Foam rolling is something I tell myself I never have time to do…but in actuality it takes five to ten minutes. I waste WAY more time than that on the interwebz each day. Time to step up my foam rolling game.

4. Run a 40 mile week
According to my marathon training schedule, I should hit a 40 mile week toward the end of the month. This is a big mental milestone for me as it will be my highest mileage week ever! Hopefully I don’t look as tired as Homer does.

5. Work my way up to 5 push-ups
Yes, I suck at push-ups. If I can get up to five push-ups in May, I’ll start the 100 push-up program in June.

6. Bump up strength training to 5x/week
While marathon training, my strength routine is mainly consisting of Zuzana’s (former Bodyrock host) ZWOW workouts, as well as her older Bodyrock workouts (this site has a great directory).

What about you, what are your goals for May?

3 thoughts on “May Goals

  1. I’m so excited for you to the run the Capitola half! The course is gorgeous! There are a few hills, but its not too bad (nothing like SF). Hope to see you there!

    How do you like Zuzana’s workouts? I’ve been thinking about trying to pick some up lately…

  2. I love that you love Zuzana too! She’s gorgeous! And I’m so interested in the foam rolling. I’ve tried it before and I swear it does nothing for me but then I’m probably doing it wrong, lol! Be careful though with the strength training 5 days a week – there can be too much of a good thing and your muscles can only grow when you’re resting;)

Leave a Reply

