What I’m Listening To: Podcasts du Jour

When recovering from foot surgery, the only exercise I was cleared for was working out on indoor cardio machines such as the elliptical and stationary bike (no treadmill allowed!). Cardio machines can really drive me nuts with boredom. I find when I listen to music I still look at the timer every 10 seconds to see if my scheduled torture time is over yet. So I started switching to podcasts. If I find a good podcast that holds my attention, the minutes on the cardio machine don’t seem quite as tortuous.

Here are the two podcasts that I’ve been obsessively listening to lately. I’m always looking for more suggestions though, so please leave me your favorites in the comments!

1. The Jillian Michaels Podcast
Let me start by saying that I do NOT agree with everything this woman says. She thinks all soy is evil, lifting weights a la CrossFit will make women ‘big,’ and that a 1200 calorie diet is great for weight loss for most women. That being said, there is still a lot of valuable information in her podcasts. She will feature guests such as endocrinologists and food science engingeers to come on the show and talk about different issues. She also features a lot of general motivational/life advice, it’s not just fitness. And what can I say, I find she has a super motivational way of speaking that gets me fired up. I suppose that makes sense she has built a very successful career out of motivating people. One con: there are a lot of plugs for her services on JillianMichaels.com and if she releases a new workout video or book, you can be sure that you will hear about it. Can’t really fault her for that though, I’d probably plug my products like that, too. The podcast is on itunes, website is here.

2. Mojo for Running
Someone at a forum turned me on to this podcast. It’s now defunct so there are no new episodes, but there are quite a few available for download. A lot of the information is geared toward newish runners (e.g., why you should have a long run each week, how to add in speedwork, etc.) but there is plenty for more veteran runners, too. Plus I just like the speaker…she comes across as very likeable and I enjoy listening to her. Podcast is on itunes, website is here.

I’m slowly running out of episodes though, and I’m looking for new podcasts to try out so please leave me some suggestions! They don’t necessarily have to be running/fitness related.

2 thoughts on “What I’m Listening To: Podcasts du Jour

  1. Those are great suggestions! Do you listen to them as you run? I confess I rarely listen to podcasts… I rarely even use music on a run, and I don’t spend a lot of time in the car or have other opportunities for a podcast, although I should incorporate more. Needless to say, no suggestions for you!

Leave a Reply

