Tales of Toronto

I’m back from my whirlwind trip to Toronto! I was in the city for less than 24 hours, so basically slept, had my interview, then rushed to the airport and flew home.

On the way there, I flew through Denver. It always kind of baffles me that Denver doesn’t have better food options. That airport is HUGE! I really wanted a ginormous salad with some tofu or something, but the closest thing was getting a tofu/veggie bowl at Itza Wrap Itza Bowl in Concourse B. This definitely isn’t the best thing ever…the steamed veggies are overcooked and the peanut sauce is just ‘meh,’ but it did in a pinch.

Normally I take my own snacks when I travel (so I can avoid over-priced mediocre food), but I didn’t get a chance to go to the store before leaving. Thems the breaks.

I arrived in Toronto quite late, so I just went to the hotel (Best Western Roehampton) and went to bed. I woke up super early, and hit the hotel gym for a quick workout. Like most hotel gyms, it was basically a hotel room with a few pieces of junky cardio equipment.

The ventilation in this room was non-existent. There was one window that opened, and that was it. After 20 minutes on the elliptical I couldn’t take it anymore and left. It was a short workout, but better than nothing I suppose. And I got to watch Canada AM! I miss that show (don’t judge me)!

The rest of the day was kind of hectic. But I did manage to squeeze in a quick stop at Tim Horton’s to load up on caffeine.

I wasn’t sure what I would find for healthy eats at the Pearson airport since I was in Terminal 3 (which is small and sucks). Things weren’t as dismal as I thought they’d be though, I found this falafel plate with some dried out falafel, oily tabbouleh, and stale pita. You don’t want to know what I had to pay for this ($10!!!).

I arrived back home late last night and now I’m trying to get life back to normal. Between traveling to Santa Cruz for the half marathon and then leaving right away for Toronto, I need a few days to decompress and get caught up on things.

Leave a Reply

