Recipe: Rice-less Sushi

Last week I had a sushi craving. The problem was that A) I’m lazy, and didn’t want to actually make sushi rice, and B) I don’t really want to be scarfing down white rice all that often. So what did I do? I turned this:

Into this:

I recently saw a picture of rice-less sushi using napa cabbage and bok choy, but would it work with the regular ol’ green cabbage I had in my fridge? You bet it did.

Was it as good as regular rice-filled sushi? Don’t be silly, of course not. But it was tasty and definitely satisfied my craving.

Rice-less Sushi

  • Nori sheets
  • Whatever veggies you are using for your filling (I used carrot and cucumber cut into matchsticks…but use your imagination!)
  • Half of a green cabbage, shredded

1. First things first, lightly steam your cabbage. I put my shredded cabbage into a skillet with a thin layer of water and covered with a lid. I let it steam for around 5 minutes.

2. The ‘sushi’ will be easiest to roll while the cabbage is still warm. Take your nori sheet and lay it down on a sushi mat. Place the steamed cabbage on the lower one third portion. Lay your other veggies on top.

3. Roll up your sushi. If you are looking for tutorials on how to do this, there are a ton on Google and Youtube. It’s really not that hard once you get the hang of it.

4. Slice the sushi into 6 pieces. My end pieces always look kind of ugly, but whatever, they still taste good.

5. I served mine with soy sauce, sriracha, and sesame seeds. Other options include wasabi, pickled ginger, or whatever else your heart desires.

Yum! This isn’t overly filling since it is just veggies, but it made a great afternoon snack.

9 thoughts on “Recipe: Rice-less Sushi

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Homemade Sushi Recipes

  2. Pingback: 15 Sushi Recipes

  3. Pingback: 9 Extremely Nutritious Meals That Have Practically No Calories - Buzz Crank

  4. Pingback: 9 Extremely Nutritious Meals That Have Practically No Calories | HeroinSounds Buzz

  5. Pingback: 9 Extremely Nutritious Meals That Have Practically No Calories – BuzzFlicker

  6. Pingback: 9 Extremely Nutritious Meals That Have Practically No Calories – VIRAL MAGNATES

Leave a comment